The Event

Pharmacy Business Awards is the biggest and most prestigious awards dinner in the industry.

Now in its 20th year the awards celebrate the success, passion and innovation of community pharmacists

The Pharmacy Business Awards is the biggest awards dinner in the profession with the ‘who’s who’ of the pharmaceutical world attending.

The awards celebrate the very best of the pharmacy profession and each year we recognise some outstanding community pharmacists who are at the very cutting edge of the profession.

All strands of the pharmacy profession will be present at the dinner, from community pharmacists, major manufacturers, wholesalers and distributors to pharmacy chains and pharmacy politicians.

The 19th annual Pharmacy Business Awards were hosted by Sky News presenter Sarah-Jane Mee on Thursday 26 September 2019. 
Eoghan O’Brien, owner and superintendent pharmacist of Bannside Pharmacy at Portglenone in Co Anrtim, Northern Ireland, beat off stiff competition to be crowned Pharmacy Business of the Year 2019.

Rt Hon Sir Kevin Barron, former MP for Rother Valley and a staunch champion of community pharmacy for many years, was duly honoured with the Editor’s award.

Raj Modi, a pharmacy manager in Derbyshire, received a “special recognition” for his heroic act during the recent flooding in Whaley Bridge when he went above the line of duty to ensure that residents of the town didn’t go without their vital medication. (See a list of winners in the other categories in the box below.)

Chief Guest Minister of State at the Department of Health and Social Care, Edward Argar MP, stated that community pharmacy would always remain an integral part of the country’s healthcare system.

He said: “Community Pharmacy has and always will be an integral and trusted part of our NHS, part of that family without whom our healthcare system simply wouldn’t work.”

Argar said the sector has “a vital role to play in reducing demand on the health system as a whole, moving care out of hospital and into the community.”